TDS Mix 013: Vandera

Mixtape 13 marks the full completion of a year since we started the mixtapes back in May 2010, and we’ve got something a little bit special to say the very least. Introducing Vandera…

Not a common name on the London Dubstep scene, Vandera plays things quiet and comes out with pieces of magic like this mixtape. When I first heard of the concept behind this 60 minute mix, I knew that it had to become part of the series. Here’s how it works – 60 minutes, 60 tracks, 1 key; C-Minor. It’s a brave thing to try and pull off, but damn does it sound good. I won’t even try to explain exactly how Jasper (Vandera) went about it, I’ll leave that to him instead.

With unreleased bits from the likes of DFRNT, Numan, Lung, Artifact and of course Vandera himself, the mix has a decent selection of little treats in it. But, to be completely honest, this mix is not really about the dubs, in fact I’d go as far as saying it wasn’t even about the tracklist, it’s about a 60 minute long tune of epic proportions. With a crazy out-of-the-box approaches to studio mixes like this, it’s no wonder that Vandera found himself nominated for Dubstepforum’s “Best Mix/Podcast 2011″ award alongside the likes of Burial x Kode9, Digital Mystikz, Ramdanman and Addison Groove. A pretty impressive achievement.

I’ll let Jasper explain the full process behind this incredible mix …

What approach have you taken for this mix?
“The intention was to create a seamless, deep dreamy mix, blurring the boundaries between producing and DJ-ing. Just like many electronic producers sample from old records, I used bass lines, vocals, and beats from recent tracks and tried to create one big re-mix. Some tracks are just 20 second samples equalised heavily to emphasise a particular instrument, while others can play for 7 minutes and carry several other tracks. During the entire mix there are at least two tracks playing at the same time, up to 6 tracks at some points. The track list order was a challenge to write, good luck time stamping that in mixcloud haha.

The main feature of this mix is that it’s entirely in C minor. You could load up two copies of the mix and blend everything again at any point in the mix. The work title for the project was ‘Opus 1 in C minor’. I might do an Opus 2 in E minor in the future if I can find enough melodies in that key.”

Which track or mix is your personal favourite?
“It’s hard to choose from 60 tracks, though if I must highlight a few faves I’d say the combination of Lung with Kastle (42:15), Phaeleh’s dubby bassline with Jazzy Jazzy and Swarms (8:30), Salmonella Dub’s trumpets with Splinter in my Soul (17:00), Blu Mar Ten’s vocals with Merce (24:48), or Coleco’s mystical flute with Submotion Orchestra (48:14). Also, Oceania’s tracks have big beats and great open space to layer other melodies over. It’s all about creating a new coherent sound with all the good music that’s out there, creating order from chaos. I think some DJ’s don’t focus enough on the sound of their mix, just on the track list.”

What did you do the mix on?
“I left the turntables off this time, and instead used a tweaked PC with a good time stretching algorithm, a laptop to edit the waves when I was on the move, and Audition to mix it all down.”

Is style important to you?
“Yeah style does influence my mood and self-perception now that I think of it. Gotta switch between the day job’s nerdy corporate look and the opposite for gigs, so my wardrobe is massive.”

What brand(s) are you particularly feeling at the moment?
“Bought a few good Tees from SeventySeven recently, and besides fashion I’m a sucker for Italian motorbikes. I love my Ducati most of all things materialistic.”

00. Intro
01. Jack Sparrow – Loveless [Tectonic]
02. The One Hundred – Break Me Down (Tek One Remix) [Ministry of Sound]
03. LV – Turn Away [Hyperdub]
04. Numan – Secrets (Vandera Remix) [Forthcoming Subdepth]
05. Jazzy Jazzy – It’s All Lies [Unreleased]
06. Swarms – Timelapse [Lodubs]
07. Vandera – India Joya [Echodub]
08. Phaeleh – Plateau [Afterglo]
09. Bob Marley – Natural Mystic vs. Kinky Reggae [Tuff Gong]
10. Oceania – Splash [Savory Audio]
11. Bandicoot – Lost In Diamonds [Unreleased]
12. 2562 – Basin Dub [Tectonic]
13. Swarms – Flikr Of Ur Eyes [Lodubs]
14. Untold & LV – Beacon (Mount Kimbie Remix) [Hemlock]
15. DFRNT – Our Little Secret [Unreleased]
16. George Fitzgerald – Weakness [Hotflush]
17. Salmonella Dub – Dub Survivor [Salmonella]
18. Burial, Four Tet & Thom Yorke – Mirror [Text]
19. The Others – Splinter In My Soul [Dub Police]
20. Twisted & TKR – Motor [Forthcoming Forecast]
21. By Proxy – 68 (Vandera Remix) [Car Crash Set]
22. Synkro – Tell Me [Synkro]
23. i3i3 – Inner [Unreleased]
24. John B – Up All Night (Gyu Remix) [Unreleased]
25. Blueprint – Watchtower (Merce Remix) [Subdepth]
26. Blu Mar Ten – The Feeling (Remix) [Exceptional]
27. Actraiser – Solstice (Vandera Remix) [Forthcoming Subdepth]
28. Riskotheque – Dream State [Audio Freaks]
29. Noise Motion – From Space (Isotroph remix) [Unreleased]
30. Oceania – Watercolour [Savory Audio]
31. Inofaith – Girls Go To Bed Early vs. Yeah Yeah [Unreleased]
32. Eleven8 – Colours of Distance [Med School]
33. Mala – Alicia [White Label]
34. Oceania – Fading [Forthcoming Analogic]
35. Vesicle – We Are Lost [Forthcoming Paradise Lost]
36. Chase & Status – Eastern Jam [Ram]
37. Subreachers – Let Go [Unreleased]
38. Vandera – Pure Light [Forthcoming Bassism]
39. Prime – Lounge [Unreleased]
40. Blu Mar Ten – Nobody Here (Kastle Remix) [BMT]
41. Lung – Self Portrait [Unreleased]
42. TMSV – All It Takes [Forthcoming Box Clever]
43. Terror Danjah – I’m Feelin U [Hyperdub]
44. Luthor – Walk Back [Unreleased]
45. Arkist – Until Next Time [If Symptoms Persist]
46. Bunzer0 – Wool (Janner Remix) [Forthcoming Orientis]
47. Coleco – Martyr [Orientis]
48. Submotion Orchestra – Sunshine [Ranking]
49. Siprut – Bridge To Macrocosmos [Qunabu]
50. Submotion Orchestra – All Yours (Jack Sparrow Remix) [Exceptional]
51. Foniqz – D2 [Hed:Remote]
52. Merce – Memories [Subdepth]
53. Untold – Walk Through Walls (LV Remix) [Hemlock]
54. Peverelist – Infinity is Now [Tectonic]
55. Bisweed – Ghosts [Forthcoming Paradise Lost]
56. Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo [Hotflush]
57. Chase & Status – Blind Faith [Ram]
58. Artifact – Pictures [Forthcoming Subdepth]
59. Kloudbreak – Ghosts (Gyu Remix) [Unreleased]
60. Vandera – Move On (4×4 Outro Remix) [Subdepth]

013: Vandera by The Daily Street on Mixcloud

Alex Synamatix

One of three co-founders at THE DAILY STREET, Alex is our Editor-in-Chief, overseeing all TDS activity. Outside of TDS, Alex is a respected creative in his own right, from art directing club nights (comm•une) to consulting for some of the largest global brands.

Previous PostNext Post